Home

spark

By Lana Mitchell

Much of the popularity of Scientology is based on the intrigue and mystic of the OT levels – and a person’s desire to discover and build on their own abilities as an operating thetan.

As a Clear, I had my own certainty on what I could do, and what my future was influenced by.

As an OT, I have an ever-increasing understanding of the power of the postulate, and my whole view of life has changed.

When I completed OT 2, one of my realizations was that when I now make a postulate, the counter-push, or counter-effort that had seemingly always occurred immediately afterwards, was gone. As a simple example — a postulate that the day is going to go well, would earlier always be immediately countermanded by an idea that that would not be the case, and of course, right on cue, things would not go as planned, with a child’s tantrum, a flat tire, or some random action that made the day less than desirable.

Once I started NOTs, my adventures regarding postulates took on a whole new level that I had never anticipated.  Each one could be called an OT “win” but interestingly, they occur so often that it is a misnomer. A better description would be that my day to day life has intrinsically changed and now the game has lifted to constantly creating new games, with more randomity, more challenge, and to a degree, more risk, and using postulates on a continuing basis to play that new game.

Just a few days ago I was handed a problem to get a precious package worth over $800, located 1 ½ hours South of my location, couriered to another Northern rural location 1 ½ hours away, when there was no time to use post or professional courier services. There was no option for failure, and postulates just came into play. The package just happened to unexpectedly be only 30 minutes away with a 3rd person, who obliged and drove it to my door.

I was unable to drive the item myself (just one of the restrictions when you have a young family who are expecting dinner on the table), so I decided that I needed to find a trusted teen who could drop everything and courier the package for me. I had an idea/picture of who I wanted to do it, however I had not spoken to the teen (ever) and had not seen his father for almost a year (though he lives in my local village). I drove to the village and there was the teen’s father standing outside his house, seemingly just waiting for me to show up. I asked and yes, his son could do the job. Less than an hour later the package was on its way. If I had tried to count up the number of problems or issues that could have popped up (and didn’t) it would have been longer than my arm – but instead, it just went seamlessly, and I had to remind myself that this is actually not what most people would consider “normal”.

Another recent example is the organization of a 5 day conference, which was handed to me 4 weeks ago, and which I have worked on heavily and am now on Day 3 of delivering (with nothing but rave responses).  I have come to know my own capabilities and skills as an OT, but I still find it kind of funny that few know or understand what is behind the competence and efficiency that others observe and constantly comment on.

I don’t write this as some sort of horn tooting, as frankly my own postulates do not require the confirmation, validation or approval of others. They just work. But I think it should be said regularly and routinely that being OT is not “normal”, and I think many people, particularly those who have had these skills for a long time, have forgotten or invalidated some of their OT abilities – and this really should not be done.

The power of the postulate is only hampered by our own views and considerations on it.As that is the power of the postulate.

And I think that cannot be repeated enough.

One thought on “The power of the postulate

  1. LRH said (I believe) that a postulate is only as good as it is workable. Auditing provides an increasing capability to understand “life,” but an individual has to work things out using his new capacity for understanding. With understanding, comes knowledge, and with that, responsibility, and with that, the potential for control. So with greater ARC comes greater KRC, and more workability, postulates included. That’s how I interpret some of these relationships, in part. So what I see is that better postulates come about through better understanding, which is always a good thing, imo.

What is your view?

