Home

hording

By Suzanne J.

I have a brother who is forever saving and storing MEST. It started initially with cars, in his teenage years, and now, as he approaches his 70’s, he seems to have accumulated a startling amount of “stuff”.

Myself, and others in the family, have helped several times to empty the garage so the car could be parked again, or to empty the shed – and this required days of sorting and stacking, and organizing and of course, runs to the trash dump – but after only a few months, the piles would start again.

There is Grandmother’s china, which no one else wanted, but he wanted to save. There are car parts, and tools, and old university text books. There are past work projects, and a library of books on several subjects he has always loved. And of course there is camping equipment and old furniture.

A logical reason exists for every item that is saved and stored, and it is very hard for him to part with these beloved possessions. Each has significance and importance for him, so few of us even mention the state of things – but the chaos that results is unnerving. It is actually enMEST.

And though my brother loves each and every item that he keeps, he also finds the amount of and the extent of his “stuff” to be unconfrontable.  He gets upset by the state of things, about the items that get lost and broken, and also about the fact that it is next to impossible to find things once they are “stored”. It drags him down tone, and he finds it embarrassing and upsetting on a routine basis.

He is a living example of the theta/mest theory, and as I started cogniting on this, I began looking at my own backyard, my own closet under the stairs, and my own cupboards. I was startled at how much I too, was hording.

I found boxes I had not opened or looked at for 4 + years.

I found clothes that are 2 sizes too big, yet still remain in my closet.

I found an old bicycle that I have been keeping for “when I start riding” which has been there now for over 10 years.

I found an old 2 seater couch, which I was storing as I was planning to replace the cover on it (but never did) which is now a wonderful nesting home for mice.

I found 8 half started (and half full) bags of potting mix, and a total hodge podge of pots that I had been storing to plant something in (and never did).

There was the old mattress, in the top of the garage (been there 3 years and well forgotten). And there was the teak card table, made by my great grandfather, buried in the back of the garage.

OK – I admit, my own yard is not clean.

So I started my own Theta/MEST project – and over a series of weekends I started getting rid of as much as I could (recycling, trashing, garage saling, gifting, you name it).

And do you know that I swear the whole house and garage space changed – became lighter somehow. I realized I had attention units on each and every one of these items, even though I had been totally unaware of it. And as I got rid of each one, my attention came off it, and my space became calmer and lighter.

I came up tone!

Now though this may be a remarkably simple process – it was actually quite an enlightening one for me. I had not realized how much of my own theta, was caught up with junk stored and stashed around the place. Each item stored was an incomplete cycle of action — in some way. Each one was an unfinished something.

I would highly recommend such a project for everyone. Even if you are not a hoarder, you will be amazed at what you are stashing, and how it makes you feel as you get rid of it.

Now I just need to work out how to sort out my brother!

“The most aberrative thing on any case is association with Mest. This does not mean that the individual is not creating Mest, it does not mean that he has no relationship with Mest, but it does mean that Theta and Mest interconnected too strongly are the components of a trap.”  LRH, Scientology: Clear Procedure, Issue One, Dec 57

3 thoughts on “Hoarding

  1. Interesting. Hoarding may be a form of disorganization. Secondaries and “maybes” may have something to do with it, too, but essentially it looks like not organizing one’s priorities (the value or use of items), not completing actions (leaving them for later), and at least in part not-is-ing and no longer being aware of what is supposedly under one’s control (not remembering all the stuff stuffed away).

    I’m wondering how this would extend to other areas, I mean, the idea of organizing activities and assigning priorities and getting things done. I hoard stuff, too. Once years ago I allowed some hoarded stuff to be throw away from storage in a location in another city, and much later realized I had some texts books in that batch that I really wanted to keep, but had forgotten were there.

    Gad … I wonder how much stuff we hoard in our minds, stuff we no longer need. Teens don’t do that, some of them are very forgetful, immediately dispensing with all kinds of useful information which has no contemplated usefulness within the next five minutes.

    Just out of curiosity, are you well-organized in your routine activities? (If you are not, we’ll have to come and get you.)

    • Thanks for your comment Eleanor. I agree that there really something to minimalism. It is interesting how society pushes that you are not a success unless you have a large house with unlimited bedrooms and bathrooms, a 3 car garage, a house at the beach (or snow) and a large SUV. If you don’t have lots and lots of expensive MEST then you have not “made it”. But in my experience, it is not the accumulation of MEST that is the winning ticket. It is having what you need to survive well, with your family, and looking after that MEST, so it is theta and brings joy and pleasure. My former husband judges his success in life by what he owns. I judge success in life by happiness — and they are two entirely different things. Cheers- Lana

What is your view?

