Home

happiness_bulldogdrummond

By Bernie Wimbush

Ran across that old book “The Way to Happiness” today and it brought back some memories that I thought I would share.

Firstly, the trap of the goal ‘To be Happy’. I refer to this as a subjective goal, because it is what you mean it to be. You can flog yourself to death chasing it and others can use it as a button to put you at effect. If my memory goes far enough back, when we were running GPMs, that top item of who would have a goal to be happy, gives the item of ‘An Unhappy Person.’ Bit sad eh?

And then in 1981 LRH writes this little book! I can remember thinking that I had to be at least a little bit naughty to have any fun, but as I look at it, that was the conservative Christian teachings which supported the idea that there was something wrong with enjoying oneself. Perhaps it was the Christian Church with the problem of the overcrowding in the nunneries for pregnant nuns, or the Irish Catholic girls getting pregnant to young Irish priests that finally got rid of the Pope’s harems and relegated sex to the evil taboo bin.

And yet this little book made sense. Simply looking after oneself results in a feeling of well being. And not having a nasty hangover the morning after was a much more pleasant start to the day. One can only wonder how precepts regarding children and parents reconcile with disconnection practiced by the Church today.

I was at Steven’s Creek when the book and rundown came out. I remember the excitement when I was one of two selected to do the course at Los Angeles. The auditing was so powerful that it totally changed my outlook on life in ways I couldn’t explain. And the cognitions kept on coming for months after.

I remember the excitement when we returned to the mission and started delivering the auditing to the public. And I bought my Jaguar. A real flourish and prosper.

Then roughly a year later, the infamous Mission Holders’ conference. “Do not harm a person of good will” says the precept, and in the first line ‘Despite the insistence of evil men that all men are evil’. So many good people were harmed by spurious declares. Sec Checks were done that really told more about the person who ordered the sec check, than the person receiving the punishment.

And I wonder how DM reconciles “The Golden Rule” with current corporate Scientology practices?

Re-reading that little book revitalized my own road and pointed out the outnesses perpetrated in the name of Scientology.

I recommend it to you.

One thought on “Achieving happiness

  1. Pingback: Finding happiness | Milestone Two

What is your view?

