Home

time

*This article was posted on another blog In February 2013 and is republished here as it is so appropriate to the current circumstances being experienced by many. 

By Jim Logan

The descriptive term “decompression” has been used to describe the adjustment a number of people seem to go through, having left the environment of say the Sea Org, the Int Base, public on lines, and possibly the general environment of more or less active participation in the Church of Scientology.

Another comment made is that these people, now find themselves in the “real world”. This remark is made generally for those who spent a good chunk of time in the Sea Org at various places. It presupposes that the “world” of the Sea Org is somehow less “real”.

I’ve recently been studying a tape series, the London 4th ACC, from the fall of 1955. This tape series is covering in depth, and in practice, some of the Scientology Axioms.

In that examination, the subject of “time” is being discussed and on one tape, Base Time and the Time Continuum, from 7 October 1955, the phenomena of different rates of change is gone over (time being mechanically, the rate of change of particles in space, and being basically a consideration that particles in space will persist, which is mechanically manifested by change of those postulated particles in space).

Briefly, if you are in an environment where the agreed upon rate of change of particles is moving along at a speed, then you find yourself shifted to a new environment where the agreed upon pace of living is markedly different, either faster or slower say, then you may find yourself out of agreement with that pace, either mentally, or since consideration takes rank over mechanics, the actual physical motion of your pace of living may be out of agreement. It can manifest as “out reality”. Your “clock” is ticking at a different pace than the current environment you are now in. You aren’t “adjusted”.

Back in Scientology 8-80, there is a section describing the action of “facsimiles”, those 3D motion pictures we all take, and record on a “time track”.

“Life is a static, according to the Axioms. A static has no motion. It has no wavelength. The proofs and details of this are elsewhere in Scientology.

“This static has the peculiarity of acting as a ‘mirror’. It records and holds the images of motion. It even can create motion and record and hold the image of that. It records also space and time in order to record motion which is, after all, only ‘change in space through time’.”

“A ‘facsimile’ brought into play by a moment of intense activity may afterwards, when the being is again producing only normal energy output, ‘refuse’ to be handled by the lower energy. This facsimile then can trap the energy of a being and turn upon him the pain, emotion, and other things recorded in the facsimile.” LRH

In order to get along with others in an environment, then the pace, the rate of change of that particular place, is going to be more or less agreed upon. If you shift from one that’s moving at a tremendous pace, to one that’s moving at a much slower rate, and personally do not make the shift, but continue to operate at the former rate of change, that environments “base time”, then you may very well end up in an “out reality” of the particles and spaces and “time” of that new environment.

The “real world” that is mentioned as something that Sea Org members aren’t in tune with for example, is a misnomer. It is a different rate of change of particles. An agreed upon “reality”, and if you aren’t in agreement then it can be kind of “unreal”. Sticking to one speed, the one you may be accustomed to, when it doesn’t go that way in the new place, can put you “out of step”. In addition, as covered in the book 8-80 (a portion is above), the facsimiles, the memories, the recordings of the speed of the previous “rate of change” or “base time of that environment” may not be able to be handled with the slower pace of output to deal with the new environment, and one may experience nightmares, upsets, and all the mis-emotions, lack of “realities” that go along with this shift.

There is a fundamental “rate of change” of this agreed upon physical universe. We agree to it, participate in it on “automatic” and so perceive the particles and changes of them in space along with all those other beings creating and moving this whole present time universe along. Each environment can have its own particular “rate of change” of the whole thing, and give the apparency of a different “clock”, the tick, tock, tick, tock of that agreed upon pace for that place. The country clock ticks along at a different pace than New York City for example.

Different people move along at different rates too. It’s all a question of the rate of change of particles in space, and one person can move stuff along briskly and have “loads of time” whereas another may move nothing and have “no time” the fundamental mechanics of time being change. A slow motion would give a longer “moment” and with hardly any change in an environment, it may even appear “timeless” that is, unchanging.

If you are having trouble with “compression”, perhaps you’re still in the “rate of change” of the former environment and “decompression” is simply being stuck in that “base time”, with facsimiles unhandled due to the change of output of energy.

The taped lecture mentioned above, and the techniques described at that time, including the raising of one’s tolerance for different motions, can help to get one unstuck from one time, and able to move along in another, or at any pace one chooses, able to “adjust” at will, and not only that, enjoy the heck out of it all instead of battling with those pictures and that portion of the time track.

9 thoughts on “The real world

  1. Great article JIm. I can have a hard time adjusting to a vacation pace and if I do manage to adjust, then I have to adjust back to the “real” world.
    Ex staff and SO would really benefit from auditing. I know I have in my adjustment. I was living, breathing, eating a very high purpose such as clearing the planet etc.I have not given up on my purposes, but it is definitely at a slower pace.

  2. For me, what I call ‘real world’ phenomena is what life was like before and after Corporate SCN. While in Corporate SCN I was living on my own planet with a daily close community of thousands of others who were doing the same thing. Now I am in the ‘real world’ and it honestly sucks. Now everything is serious – Shreffler’s definition.

  3. This is a particular problem for me. I seem to operate at a much higher speed than the people around me, and I’m constantly having to adjust downwards in order to get in comm with them. For their part, they seem to have a problem trusting me because they maybe feel threatened by my speedy responses to them. I can understand this.

    Therefore, when out and about, I’m aware of having to slow down my time in order that others might ‘see’ me. However, this tends to make my comm with them unnatural to me. In other words, I’m being a false self so that others might be able to perceive me. Rapid, quick-fire responses just spooks them, and some spook quite badly, at once turning me into an enemy.

    This problem causes me to ever withdraw from society. I truly love people, but I can’t be myself around them, it takes them forever to absorb what I’ve said, and in any case, they have fictionalised me the moment I enter their space; I’m perceived as a cardboard-cutout, caricature, clichéd stereotype. If I slightly step out of their horizon, I’m immediately unrecognised and disbelieved.

    It seems unfair; others are sat back in their comfy sofas and I’m having to do all the running around.

    Obviously, I don’t take this personally, or consider them wrong – not at all. Nor am I a crazed churchie, instantly blaming their bank or overts or MU’s.

    People are fabulously interesting, but being one is hard work, and a lot of the time, I just can’t face it.

    • Hi Poet, I used to have the same view. Then I realized that what was happening was I was seeing, doing and acting, while others are doing the same through a pile of circuits, machinery and “out of Present-Timeness”. The more auditing and training I get, the less of this baggage I have, and the faster I can respond, act and communicate. It is not that it scares people so much as they find me somewhat mysterious and I become something else that is hard to confront.
      In my work I deal with people from all walks of life, at all tone levels. I find that my speed of particle flow and tolerance for velocity is something they want to emulate — they just don’t know how.
      The answer is to give them a little bit of tech, and let them apply it, and have a win. And then another. And then another. At least that has worked for me 🙂

      • Thank you, Lana. Yes, that’s exactly what I should endeavour to do more, it’s a good tactic. It’s easy to forget just how well hatted I am, and it’s frustrating to watch others struggle, even though they’re used to it; hat don’t hit comes to mind. And now that I think about it, my morale falls in direct ratio to failing in responsibility for the dynamics. Got it, LOL! 🙂

  4. Poet– I can’t add much. You and Lana covered this ground well. All I can say is, whatever you do, don’t allow yourself to invalidate yourself on this score. Be you. You certainly aren’t the first one to discover your fellow humans are hard to deal with, for a variety of reasons, velocity being just one.

  5. Wow. This article fits me like a glove. Poet I have the exact same reality and it’s sending me crazy… My wife is a lot slower than me and since I moved to the “slow south” I am castle crazy. I get stuff done in a blink of an eye and then sit around frustrated the rest of the world has to catch up. I need to listen to this tape.

What is your view?

