Home

helping auditors

By K.H.

There are many people who have trained as auditors at some point in the last 30 years. Thousands actually.

But how many are currently auditing? Unfortunately only a handful.

Invalidation of auditors is common place, and the Milestone Two blog has detailed this in several earlier articles What Went Wrong, and Get back on that horse.  They have also paid tribute to some special auditors (see A real auditor), and I strongly recommend that they be doing more of this in the future too.

Auditors are valuable. Without them, Scientology cannot be applied.

And without each and every one of us becoming an auditor on the training side of the Bridge, we cannot actually travel The Bridge in full.

Auditors deserve to be on a pedestal — and they deserve to be treated with respect. They deserve validation for the work they do. And they deserve ethics protection.  They deserve service, to keep their skills honed, and they need assistance and help when they need it. Auditors can make mistakes and are not always perfect — but it is up to us, as a group, to keep them doing well, winning and enjoying their work. It aint always smooth sailing when you are having to confront and handle the reactive mind, day in and day out.  So we need to cut our auditors a little slack and help them be the best auditors they can be — not by cancelling their certificates, or forcing them to retrain from the bottom up, but by using standard Qual tools to resolve what was not understood and applied, and get them straight and winning again, helping others.

I cannot overstress the importance of this, in my view. As without auditors — we are screwed. It is up to us, as a group, to make sure that people can train, and intern and win as auditors. They win, and we all win.

Here is what LRH says on the subject:

“WHAT DO I THINK OF AUDITORS?

“Every now and again somebody tries to get me to say what I think of auditors. They want me to become hypercritical, I guess so as to match the asker’s tone. Well, I better make a public utterance after all this time.

“I think of auditors in a rather intense way. As I know more auditors than anybody else and have a better basis for judgment, on this subject I can be for once an authority.

“My opinion of auditors in general is fairly well known to several people.

“I think of an auditor as a person with enough guts to DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT. This quality is rare and this quality is courageous in the extreme.

“It is my opinion and knowledge that auditors are amongst the upper tenth of the upper twentieth of intelligent human beings. Their will to do, their motives, their ability to grasp and to use are superior to that of any other profession.
I think of an auditor as having INITIATIVE. He is able to grasp or make a mock-up and put it into action.
Auditors survive better than other people.

“If this world has any faintest chance of surviving it will be not because I write, but because auditors can and will think and do.

“I think our auditors came from beings lately arrived on Earth who, seeing where it was going, decided to band together to send it elsewhere.

“I consider all auditors my friends. I consider them that even when they squirrel. I believe they have a right to express themselves and their own opinions. I would not for a moment hamper their right to think. I think of auditors and Scientologists as the Free People.

“Just as they consider one another their people, so I consider them my people.

“I think their errors of the past, when they existed, came about because we are new and we are finding out and I don’t think any of their errors were intentional any more than mine were.

“I can understand their own reactions because I can understand the counter- effort given them by society, and thus I don’t hold auditors guilty even when they fold up but simply assume we’d better make a better effort into the society to overcome or bypass the counter-effort.

“I don’t expect auditors or Scientologists to instantly agree with or seize upon whatever I say. I would be offended if they did and would feel they weren’t a free people. Since they are intelligent I expect them to think over what’s said, try it, and if it’s good for them, use it. That old auditors sooner or later come back to and use what I have discovered isn’t any testimony to our relationship at all, it’s only a testimony to my being right because I meant to be right in the first place.

“I sorrow when I see somebody accomplishing less than he should because he thinks I wouldn’t approve of it. In organizations and out I count upon initiative and good judgment.

“The most decent people I have ever known have been auditors. The best-hearted people I know are auditors. They are so decent and good hearted I have to work and argue with them to make enough to keep mock-ups rolling well, a thing they are now beginning to do.

“I am very proud of Scientologists. I think they’re bright, shiny, beautiful people and I’m glad every one of them decided to get born again this time.

“I think we’re a fine crew. I know we can make it. And I know that if it’s a better world in the future it will be because Scientologists are what they are, not what I made them.

“Now in case there are any further inquiries or doubts on the matter, I assure you I have spoken on the subject and that I have spoken from the bottom of a very experienced heart.

“Scientologists are the best people on each of the five continents and that’s all there is to it.”

PAB 79, 10 April 1956 THE OPEN CHANNEL

One thought on “What do I think of auditors?

  1. This PAB makes me weep with joy and gratitude. How far off this original intention our church has gone! I’ve begun to mock up some postulates to get auditor trained next year. And my god, what he says about squirrelling! LOL!

What is your view?

