Home

polish

By L.Ron Hubbard

“I myself periodically study auditing and put a polish on my own skill.

“I don’t have to say “I don’t know”, but I’m not so arrogant as to believe I’m above knowing how to do things. So if every year or two I can study how to audit without going into a long rigmarole about how I’m above all that, I can reasonably expect others to have a sane view of their own skill too.

“Any skill can be improved—one can know more about any subject—unless one has already decided he or she already knows all about it.

“The successful progress of a student is inversely proportional to the student’s preconception of knowing it already. An arrogant assumption of total knowing without inspection is the surest way to make no progress.

“One does or does not know the data before him. That’s elementary. Why should it become involved with emotionalism?

“The fast student is not concerned with necessities to maintain status by asserting how much he or she already knows. The fast student is only interested in knowing what he does not know, studying it and then knowing that he knows it.

“The slow student is so busy putting on that he knows that he never finds out he doesn’t in fact know.”

HCO PL 11 June 64, NEW STUDENTS DATA, STAR RATED FOR NEW STUDENTS

19 thoughts on “Polishing auditing skills

  1. I see the biggest necessity for us Indies is to maintain our comm lines and build a network through which we can serve each other forming up small groups which interact with each other.

  2. I second that motion, Theo. Back when one could write letter to Ron, he was our “go to guy” to settle any disagreements or confusion about what is or is not standard tech. We could just write him a letter and ask. Actually, he still is the “go to guy” in a sense because we agree that his writings define the subject. However, at this time we can no longer write him a letter in the physical universe and expect a physical universe reply. So, we need to pursue our quest for truth using a multi-viewpoint system. To make this work we need to have communication between others, lots of listening with no arrogant assumptions that one “knows all about” the subject.

  3. That is a wonderful quote, Lana, and one I lived by in my training (and still, in my auditing). When I cease learning, when I think I know it all, that is the day I am dead. 🙂

    • I have encountered Scientologists who have been in and around the subject for years and have never really progressed with any substantial tech training. They have a SOLO certificate, and left it at that. They have done lots of administrative training and other courses, but little actual auditing. I personally feel it is such a mistake. Their understanding of the how the mind works is, unfortunately, limited — yet they are convinced that know what Scientology is.

      I am really enjoying honing my skills, learning more, applying tech across my dynamics. It is such a vast body of work and the idea that one “knows it already” is unquestionably the first block to learning. I don’t know that I ever had that view, but I did have the idea for many years that “I am not a tech terminal (and thus don’t need to know how to audit well)” and this was my undoing in many, many ways.

      Fixing that now — and it is a blast. Just the best fun 🙂

      • I know what you mean, Lana, on both counts: those that just don’t or won’t train (or stop training because they figure they have all they need); and, how you are “growing with” the tech. I’m glad you realized you are valuable as a tech terminal and are now auditing well (evidenced by your pc’s wins).

        For these other people, it’s not just a mistake, it’s a grave decision and one which could well preclude them from making it out of the trap. Training is ESSENTIAL to going free; there are no two ways around it. I applaud you doing the BC. It is a wonderful course and a wondrous journey.

        Here’s a quote I recently posted on FB I think speaks to what you’re saying here:

        “When we consider this further, we see that the ability of the auditor to control minds and mental reactions is dependent upon his getting results in preclears. The preclear’s results simply stem from the preclear’s gained ability to control his own mind and its reactions. Thus, of course, we have entirely different values.

        An auditor who does not consistently get good results is going to have his own case cave in on him. The only way an auditor can keep his case up is to get continuous and predictably excellent results upon preclears. Thus an auditor, to have his case in good order, would have to be in good order as an auditor; he would have to be able to get results upon those he processed. In view of the fact that he could get results upon other human beings, he could then, of course, know continuously that he could control human reactions and mental reactions; and so, with this confidence and this control, be completely unworried about his own case and be able to do actually anything he wished with his own mental machinery.

        The case of the auditor actually depends upon his successes in auditing.” LRH (PAB 42, 24 December 1954)

        • Thank you for posting this Chris. Thank you, thank you, thank you. Just so pertinent. So applicable. So true.

          I am learning the above, first hand, and it is a lesson I am learning to love. Become the best auditor you can be – become a great auditor — and my God, one’s own case just FLIES! 🙂

  4. Theo, Espiritu: I think that is being done. MS2 is hard at work establishing a wonderful network; APIS has established as network of auditors and even helped form groups; These blogs help fill in some holes. So I think it’s heading in the right direction. IMO.

  5. LOL, Lana! I read this as I am about to start a new semester of teaching! This is true for students and teachers alike! I was terribly humbled by starting a master’s course in writing recently…oh, my! How much more there is to know about my craft!

    • Mary,
      I’m working on a construction project and came to the point of having to figure out the lengths and angle cuts on the rafters. This means that high school class I’d blown from loomed its lesson, and my own lack of confront at that time. Time to go back to Grade 10 and geometry. Yikes.

      Well, I’m happy to say that I was able to clear up my earlier mis-understood/not-understood material, and finally after all these years, with confidence work out the lengths and angles of a complex roof and know just how the heck I did it!

  6. In fact, Ron learned a lot from beginners, and from those who knew less than him on the subject (all of us). Which is part of how he came to refine the subject as much as he did, and undercut it from time to time.

    I’ve never shied away from treatises put out by others on subjects I’m already familiar with. You never know when someone is going to express something in a way you never thought about before. Even going over the same material in Scientology for the umpteenth time can yield remarkable results.

    Paul

What is your view?

