Home

friends

By Lana

I want MS2 to enable people from all across the world to network and and make friends with similar realities, goals and aspirations. When MS2 originally started we had a membership platform that was a closed group that allowed for messaging and chats and more — however it was attacked and a small few infiltrated the platform to then cause trouble for those that were there.

So we closed that membership platform several years ago and have just relied on the blog to network readers. At least once a month I get a request to share contact details between readers/contributors, who want to talk offline over the phone, through Skype or face to face.

I enjoy getting requests to connect people, as it means that friendships and communities are growing.

Most recently I received a request from a reader who lives in the US and is looking for Scientologists to talk to (either locally or further afield)  about any of the following:

Music,
Animals,
Applications of Scn,
Experiences in the church, good or bad,
Philosophy,
Wholistic Health
Comedy,
Mind & Spirit,
Science & Math,
Helping & Counseling People,
Children,
Nature

If you are looking/willing for new comm lines, please write me on admin@milestonetwo.org.

14 thoughts on “Friends and more friends

    • Well interestingly, I met Jim through a mutual friend (thank you John Aaron). There are no lack of girls and gals out there — but without a network to find each other, they tend to think they will never find the person they are looking for.
      Signed Cupid

      • Cupid:

        Very true. When I was on staff, there were too many clearly mismatched marriages, because of a very small pool of folks to choose from (when you considered that Scientologists really preferred other Scientologists as 2D partners). I have to say that even my first wife and I were mismatched, though you wouldn’t have thought so at the time.

        Long after my first wife and I divorced, I finally found a match which has happily lasted almost 30 years now. Why? I think our motto really says it all: “I’ll get you back!” 😉

        Paul

        • Here’s a somewhat related anecdote for you. Back in the mid-80s, at what would soon become my org, apparently some fellows complained to the Academy sup that there were no single girls around the org. His reply was to go out there, meet non-Scientologists, disseminate, and get them in. Well, one fellow took that advice to heart and a short time later, he met me. We started dating and he gave me a copy of DMSMH. I was hooked, came in and did VMH TRs. Our 2D didn’t work out, but I joined staff and eventually met the man who would become the love of my life (Paul aka Skatjappers).

          Lana, feel free to pass along my contact info to the person in the US looking for a comm line.

  1. I am always impressed at how you have managed to run this blog without it devolving into a natter blog or criticism of all things LRH, Scientology & Dianetics, etc. And actually most of the commenters here are fairly respectful too. (I’m not saying there’s not a time & place for these things, but if the focus is to stay on delivery & improvement of fellow man & success / positive news, then it’s doing well!)

    To some extent this blog reminds me much of the Good News Network – developed as an antidote to the Merchants of Chaos, have you ever heard of it? Developed by a former journalist who felt mainstream news was all 1 sided and negative. Highly recommend:

    http://goodnewsnetwork.org/

  2. Hey PID, thank you for the feedback. I think our insistence that people are civil and the group knocking back people who are trying to natter or hit others has proven a successful formula. We enjoy your company, and I am sure you are helping us to maintain the tone of the place.

    I had not seen that Good News Network before — but it is cool.

    I had lunch today with two very prominent Australian journalists and we were talking about the fact that news has to be bad, controversial, shocking or new/exclusive to be run by editors/producers – or it has to be quirky, silly or unusual. That is what interests the news channels — and that is based on the feedback of the general “public” in terms of what they want to hear about. It is a long term situation with media but as my work involves media/communications, it requires a good knowledge of public relations and comms to be able to get stories run and any significant syndication across the country.

    Good news is a hard sell. Pity but true.

    And that is really just an indicator of the general tone of society — which is below 2.0 on the whole.

    • Thank you Lana. You wrote “that is really just an indicator of the general tone of society — which is below 2.0 on the whole.” I’m curious if this is true? Put it another way, it is the overall society that is really below 2.0 or is it the art & media (journalism/news) & politics of those in charge and running the show, if that makes any sense? And is that nationally or just on a more local/state level?

      If it is below 2.0, I would argue that the US is at about 1.8 in light of all the terrorist attacks and economic downturn combined with the irrational responses to kill & remove the police, Muslims, Mexicans, increased calls for protectionism, nationalism, etc. – all of which indicate pain and striking out at random at perceived enemies.

      You can also see the themes of antagonism in movie posters (and even the titles!), reflecting the increasing Versus mentality visible in at least American politics at the moment:

      Captain America: Civil War –

      Independence Day 2 : Resurgence –

      Neighbors 2 –

      Angry Birds Movie – https://1.bp.blogspot.com/-dMEIyJOdtaA/VyvKCz8itnI/AAAAAAACTgI/0ruxPCL8ETku9_YIvttCHIlnJEDxZDFJACLcB/s800/Angry%2BBIrds%2Bmovie%2Bbillboard.jpg

      X Men Apocalypse – http://www.telegraph.co.uk/content/dam/women/2016/06/03/x-men_billboard_h_2016-large_trans++LyQuLaWi53vasyfRaiyWAVQYArzCZkfUqg3bUYglOXQ.jpg

      Batman Vs. Superman: Dawn of Justice – http://cdn.movieweb.com/img.teasers.posters/FIdkwwifsiPJgi_297_a.jpg

      The Purge: election year (seems to challenge/hostile to viewer) – http://www.statf.com/ImageRenderer/200/0/redesign/static/img/default_poster.png/0/images/masterrepository/Fandango/188458/thepurgeelection_poster.jpg

      You get the idea.

      • PID:

        I started thinking about what you said today. I have a huge list of tunes I play through my computer while I work. It spans the 60s through the late 80s, when I stopped listening to music radio (thanks, punk and rap). Some of it is obviously squarely 1980s. Listening to that music tends to take me back to that decade.

        The 1980s were great decade for me. At least, I remember being optimistic for most of the decade (my 20s and early 30s). And I was thinking of some of the movies which were favorites of the decade. Very interesting contrast to now: Back To The Future, Ghostbusters, Beverly Hills Cop to name a few. By contrast to the comparatively dark films you’ve listed. (Yes, I’m aware I’ve purposely chosen comedies. But I recall even the darker movies not being as dark as films today.)

        And I recall the general mood of the country being far more optimistic than we are now.

        Hmmm.

        Paul

        • Thanks Paul,

          I was a child in the 1980s so I don’t remember a whole lot more than the cartoons and TV shows for kids & families.

          That said, do you really not listen to music radio from 1990 to now? There’s some good things out now, sure there’s a lot of crap as well. How about movies or TV? I’d be concerned if one is unable to confront the media of today.

          PID

          • PID:

            Some people treat music as just something that’s around as noise in the background. I’m an avid music geek. Music is the only type of art (aside from, obviously, film) which can lead my emotions around by the nose.

            Back in the late 1980s, the music industry began to change in ways I didn’t like. Punk and rap invaded, and what was popular became nearly unrecognizable as music (in fact, I’ve argued that rap isn’t music at all). The scene was so bad that it fragmented the broadcast industry, and out of that emerged a variety of types of stations, where before there were only “rock” stations (I’m not considering country, or any other type of music here; just rock). One alternative was “Classic Rock”, where you got the classic rock hits from bands you knew, plus anything new those bands came up with. And that was the choice I made at the time. At the time, I spent a lot of my day with the radio on, either driving to and from wherever (I was living in LA at the time) or on job sites where someone usually had a radio on somewhere.

            In 1988 or so, I moved to Clearwater and finally got cable TV. (In LA you didn’t need cable TV. The broadcast stations came in quite clearly, because their antennae were high on a mountain and the LA basin was broad and flat below.)

            Once I had cable, I had MTV, which I enjoyed immensely, being a music geek. I was still listening to classic rock on the radio, but MTV provided a steady stream of new rock bands and new music, similar to what I’d grown up with. Shortly thereafter, VH-1 debuted, which carried on the MTV tradition. So during the 90s, I did pick up a fair bit of music from existing bands and some new ones. Groups like “Living Colour” and “Collective Soul”. But as time went on, even rock degraded. You had grunge, which I didn’t like, and the various incarnations of metal, like speed metal, death metal and such. Grunge was just flat out depressing to me, so I refused to listen. More and more I preferred VH-1 to MTV, until at some point, MTV ceased to be about music at all, and turned into a purveyor of mindless reality programs and such. And then about 2000 my daughter graduated high school and left home. So MTV and such were no longer automatically on in the background. And I simply stopped watching. Ultimately, I turned to talk radio. Then a few years ago (after I’d bought a TiVO and spoiled myself by being able to skip TV commercials), I got so fed up with broadcast hours where a full quarter of the hour was taken up by commercials, I stopped even listening to the radio. I worked out how to put my playlist of 500 or so CDs on computer, so that’s what I listen to now.

            As a side note, I do occasionally hear something during the credits of a film or through a PA system which will catch my attention. I’ll look for the song (usually to purchase) and at the same time check out the rest of the music by that band (Youtube is invaluable there). I found “Clocks”, for example and loved the tune. I checked out the rest of Coldplay’s music and found it wanting. So Clocks was the only tune I bought from them. “Black Hole Sun” was another tune I picked up, but rejected the rest of Soundgarden’s catalog (though I consider Black Hole Sun a pretty depressing song).

            I’m a generation or so older than you, apparently, so my musical experience for this lifetime is much longer. The 1960s started a huge renaissance in music that continued for almost three decades. And it is chock full of terrific music and bands.

            So no, I really stopped mostly listening to rock radio in the late 80s, started listening to Classic Rock in the late 80s, and stopped listening to MTV somewhere in the 2000s. But when you consider that I’ve got enough CDs and music burned on to my hard drive (three and a half decades’ worth) that I still get great music to listen to all day, it’s not so bad.

            Movies… well, I’m also a film geek. So I probably have in excess of 500 DVDs and Blu-Rays. I actively seek out new movies, avoiding most dramas and preferring sci-fi, adventure, comedy, rom-coms (romantic comedies), thriller and such. There has been a steady stream of good movies over the years (though the quantity has declined). Though I must say that I’m becoming more and more annoyed by the repetition and increasingly derivative work of the film community.

            Television these days makes me want to read books. There are only a very few shows I have even the vaguest interest in. I don’t watch mainstream content. I just can’t believe that lawyers, police and doctors are the only people whose lives are interesting enough to provide mass entertainment. Sci fi still provides some spice. Half hour comedies are watchable, but I avoid them because I simply don’t have the time. Youtube is more interesting to me. I have a huge number of channels I’m subscribed to on Youtube, but even there, many of the people who used to create worthwhile content on Youtube have moved on.

            That’s not to say that I’m not keenly aware of what’s going on in the media. Far from it. I subscribe to TV Guide to keep a finger on the pulse of the industry. And I carefully monitor the celebrity and entertainment pages of my local newspaper (and other sources) to monitor who and what are hot and who and what are not. By a similar token, though I’m not near as involved in the tech industry as I used to be, I still monitor current technology to stay more or less abreast of the latest developments. (Some advice: avoid investing in 3D. It will never be what some would like it to be. Also, look for the end of the “4K” race at some point in the near future. They may move on to 8K, 16K or 32K, but at some point, the human eye simply can’t tell the difference, and at that point, further refinement is moot.)

            That’s about it.

            Paul

    • LM:

      Two things. Group insistence on civility is very important, and helps the group maintain cohesiveness. Back when I was doing a job like yours, my group did the same, and it was a great service to me and to themselves.

      Second, as regards the media, follow the money. You’re right in that the news tends to represent the tone of the society. But it’s also a fact that every disaster, every scandal, every major crime makes money for the media. Or at least, so they figure. Notice that the “mainstream media” have lost considerable ground over the last few years and now struggle for each dollar, pound and euro. They have a tendency to 1) write poorly, 2) tell only part of the story, 3) lie. People are generally tired of this, and the Internet is a more convenient source of news (and not the mainstream’s sites on the Internet).

      Paul

  3. Thank you to the 5 people who have responded by email already. I have forwarded your contact details and will continue to do the same for any additional names.

What is your view?

