Home

housefly-3

By Paul Foster

Here’s how silly yet how profound cognitions can get.

I believe this was on a tape, and you sticklers out there will have to forgive me for not knowing which one or where; I don’t recall. Ron was talking along and he made this off-handed comment about a fly that had landed on his table. He looked at the fly as it proceeded to brush its hind legs against its wings and use its forelegs to wipe down the surface of its eyes, etc. Ron was watching this whole thing, something which has occurred billions of times since flies originally flew. And his comment was, more or less, “isn’t it amazing how some postulates stick?”

Now, you’d think, well that’s just an off-handed comment by Ron, really of no significance whatsoever. But I looked at that whole situation and realized how innocently profound it was. I’d never quite looked at it that way before. But as soon as he said it, I started thinking about the rest of life. How squirrels bury nuts and dig them up again. How cats poop in dirt and cover it up. How snakes just sort of know from birth how to wriggle their way from here to there. Things like that. You’ve got all these scientists who think things like that come from DNA or are learned from parents. And it’s neither one.  It’s part of the postulate of that life form!

The signs of this are everywhere. Think of every natural quirk of every life form you’ve ever seen. And it’s all part of the design. It’s all mixed in with the original postulates of that life form. Birds fly and fish swim.  Why? Because way back when, when someone created them, they said, “and this one will be able to fly, and that one will be able to swim”. That’s it. It couldn’t possibly be more complicated than that! It’s an utter and complete simplicity.

I know Ron wasn’t particularly trying to be profound in that statement. It was just an off-hand observation that anyone (a Scientologist) might make.  And yet it contains the key to all of life. It contains the key to why a duck isn’t a snake isn’t a fish. It differentiates all of life’s different forms. And it’s why I can look at something like the Grand Canyon and be impressed by its magnitude and beauty, but be endlessly fascinated by the stuff in my yard or garden. It’s what I find remarkable about the residents of the Fifth Dynamic. I can just sit there and watch the interactions in a fish tank or on a lawn, or in the sky amongst birds. Fascinating.

And from that one off-handed comment, I now understand more about life itself than any scientist on planet Earth. Just that. An utter simplicity which unlocks the whole puzzle.

That’s what I meant in my first sentence above. Cognitions can sometimes be so silly, you’d just slap your head and go, “Duh”. But if LRH hadn’t made that observation and I hadn’t heard it, I might still be puzzling over large portions of life. As it is, that was one of the most profound cognitions I’ve ever had in Scientology.

Imagine that.

2 thoughts on “Why do birds fly?

  1. Great post, Paul. Thanks.

    Yep, those scientist fellows are trying to puzzle out biodiversity. At school we were taught that life began on a chance combination of gasses over a methane pond. Nowadays, they’re looking to unlock the secrets of life on meteors and comets out in space.

    We have a lot in common with Christians in this regard, who promote the idea of Intelligent Design. It makes far more sense to me than, “Once upon a time, there was this Almighty Bang.”

    Today, I fished a zebra spider out of my kitchen sink. All black with thin yellow stripes on his body and legs. Poor chap was struggling. After having a good look at him, I chucked him out the window. Once, a similar spider, though much larger, came out of a bunch of bananas I’d just bought. He was all yellow with thin black stripes, more like a wasp, and seemed to be in a hurry, so I hastened him out the window.

    For sure, there are some extremely creative individuals out there.

What is your view?

