Home

By Mary Sue

The Saint Hill Special Briefing Course  has been in operation for more than three years now. From a small course merely in which we had only hoped to train and put into the field and in the Central Organizations a few really well trained auditors, it has grown to the point where we have trained over two hundred auditors.

Ron has gotten technology to the point where the only thing standing in the way of Operating Thetan for us all can only be the result of two factors: the auditor cannot audit, or the auditor cannot read the E Meter.

Therefore, we have a very severe training schedule in which the final test of whether a student has learned all the theory and practical data and drills is whether or not he can co-ordinate all the factors into a perfectly run session. The final test of whether an auditor can audit is how well he does in actual auditing, not whether he can quote a Bulletin without being able to apply that data in an auditing session, and not whether he can give good acknowledgements in a practical drill on TR 2. An expert auditor has all data and all practical ability completely integrated into a smooth, superb auditing session.

This makes the course difficult; we don’t deny this. This makes students go into all sorts of dramatizations; we don’t deny this. When a student comes on to course, we expect him, after about three weeks, to go into a beautiful, full-blown dramatization of how horrible it all is. After this has occurred, we expect the student to get some small idea that perhaps he may be responsible to a slight degree for his state and condition. And then a cognition comes: HE KNOWS THAT HE DOESN‘T KNOW, at which point a complete degradation descends upon the student and all his past auditing errors, which he has previously blamed upon the vagaries of the different preclears he has audited, become unlessened as overts and now loom as insurmountable barriers.

At this point we heave a big sigh of relief. The student will make it. He can be taught to be an auditor. The first step in learning is to know that one doesn’t know. If one doesn’t know this, then nothing can be taught to one. It is as Ron has often said: ‘Before you can cure a blind man of his blindness, he has first to know that he is blind.’ So from this point on, things get better. The student still has his difficulties, but he gets happier, and more hopeful. He can be trained, and we know that we can make him into the expert auditor we expect of anyone given a Class upon graduation from Saint Hill, provided he can stay on course long enough to complete all requirements.

The student’s friends, at home, following his or her progress like a continued story, must receive quite a variety of tone scale changes, down and up. In one letter they may hear how it’s all too horrible to bear, in another that students are trained by hanging them up by their ears, in another letter a ray of hope comes through. Then it’s all grim again and the friends are shocked to learn that ‘the instructors all wear brass knuckles and were recruited from local prisons’. And then, somehow, the letters get sunnier and happier and even a bit superior (except where money is needed to stay on another few weeks to get on the Class VI Course).

We have at Saint Hill our own TV circuit on which Ron and students give demonstrations of sessioning and E Meter reading, and we have applied this as a training mechanism on which student auditing ability is checked; so that, whatever his difficulties, these can be given special attention in training.

I can’t give you all the news — that would require a book. But I do want to communicate to everyone that the Class VI Course has started, and that auditors can be taught to audit to O.T. All we have to do now is to train auditors — in other words do what we, here at Saint Hill, are doing — and send auditors out into the field and to the Central Organizations to assist in preparing other auditors for Saint Hill Training, so that the job can be done by more and more for more and more. A new world is being built here, really, factually, and for true. A new world for all of us. Even you.

MARY SUE HUBBARD

*Note: This article is partly adapted from an earlier article written by Mary Sue Hubbard which was published in ‘Ability 141’, Sept 62 “Saint Hill Special Briefing Course News, and was then later published in The Auditor Magazine (Issue 1) in May 1964.

35 thoughts on “Training auditors at Saint Hill

  1. 200 Class 6s in 3 years. Pretty good for such a big course just introduced. They may not make Class 6s anymore but Id bet the square feet stats are up!!

    • 4a:

      Great stats for the original BC. But then, how far would you go and how much would you spend to be in a class taught by LRH? In the early 60s (when the course started), with 10 years of lecturing behind him, LRH’s reputation would have been stellar, to put it mildly.

      Paul

      • Thats true Paul, but my opinion is that if the Tech were as close to fully duplicated as possible, especially the basics, those stats could be duplicated and bettered, given some time and then become a juggernaut of sorts as more people got that duplication. Its just a mockup I like to look at from time to time 🙂

        • 4a:

          True. But I get tired of hearing about supes and administrators who were loved for being assholes. Ron proved that it wasn’t necessary. One can be patient, empathetic and insistent without being a jerk. Scientology and the Church had far too many jerks (like Miscavige) who were loved and/or admired for getting things done by being assholes. I remember being flunked for being too slow to define a word on my first course by a Brooklyn born jerk Basic Courses supervisor. He was so harsh about it that I almost walked out. I had another supe like him on the OEC. And I remember hundreds of administrators and missionaires who were likewise afflicted.

          By contrast, I love stories about Mission staff who used to throw public parties, and the general camaraderie among staff and public of the Mission. For thousands of Scientologists, those were the “good old days”. I wish I had ever experienced such a thing myself in Scientology.

          I like your mock up. That’s a great sort of thing to look at. Having a mock up like that is the first step in producing the real thing.

          Paul

          • “I get tired of hearing about supes and administrators who were loved for being assholes”

            I don’t see that anywhere, Paul. Whatcha meaning?

            Re Mission staff, personally I never saw it as “mission” or “org”; that perspective just perpetuates an “us” and “them” viewpoint. It was just “us”, people helping people.

            Anyway, good supes are tough and dedicated. They don’t have to be nice or sweet; they have to be effective. The best did their jobs well, had ARC (which doesn’t mean they have to be “nice”) and got the students through their courses knowing their stuff.

            • CB:

              I knew my declaration would provoke a response from you.

              You brought it up yourself, in the person of “Chris “F*ck you and the horse you rode in on” Montgomery”. I don’t know anything about this person, but when you characterize someone this way, I’m lead to believe that this was yet another supe who got things done by being brusque, peremptory, harsh and wholly unsympathetic.

              I would agree that the best supes were full of ARC and insistent. Problem was, I’ve seen far too few of these and far too many of the other kind, who “get the job done” by threat, intimidation, and rudeness. Not only have I seen too many, I heard of too many just like that. I’ve also experienced the ones who were milk toast, weak, uncertain and indefinite. Those guys didn’t get the job done very well.

              As for mission versus org, I can’t declare that mission staff were generally happier than org staff, or had a more familial relation with their public. But I will say that, when people in the Field speak of eras they experienced like this, I have heard it more in the context of missions than orgs. Even then, though, I never said such circumstances applied only to missions. I just expressed my pleasure at hearing of stories like that. I mentioned missions prominently because that’s where I’ve heard about most of those circumstances occurring. And if I could prove it happened more at missions, I could also see why. Missions were never as brutally managed as orgs were, at least when I was closely connected to staff. For years, if not decades, org management was routinely bypassed, badgered and badly controlled by people who were ill-trained and frankly unqualified to manage anything more elaborate than a lemonade stand. Don’t tell me it wasn’t that way, because this was something I witnessed for certain myself, and which has been echoed by any number of other people who were in a position to know.

              Paul

              • “I knew my declaration would provoke a response from you.”

                I find it very interesting and edifying to know this was partly your intention, Paul. To the point, you responded initially with a generality (“I get tired of hearing about supes and administrators who were loved for being assholes”) and seemingly intentionally wrought your words to “provoke a response” rather than just pointing out to whom you were referring.

                As you say, you don’t know this person, yet you can cavalierly apply a broad brushstroke to her and what she was supposedly like. Chris Montgomery didn’t have 175-200 students on the BC because she was a “jerk” or “asshole” or “brusque, peremptory, harsh and wholly unsympathetic”. No, Chris Montgomery was an excellent supe, full of ARC and Understanding, but tough as nails when it was needed. These were/are the types of supes that are needed in order to make auditors who can audit. They’re not namb0pamby, but tough and dedicated to KSW. That’s why they were gotten rid of, every last one of them. Perhaps in future you might give this deeper thought before responding.

                Re missions and orgs, some were one way, some were others. I’ve heard plenty of stories of goings-on in missions, irrational and abberrated 2Ds, financial irregularities and rip-offs (and no, I didn’t get this from the Mission Holders Conference SOED), and other such stuff. But the real point is, that the individual org AND mission staff that were doing their jobs and holding their posts as LRH intended, they were stars, even if run roughshod over and tossed and forgotten.

                One other thing, if one is finding themselves charged up over n area such as assholes in orgs or as supes or administrators, then one needs to clean that out of their own universe. Even the Dalai Lama has said that if you want to see change in the world around you, then change the world within you.

                And that’s all I have to say on the matter. :p

                • CB:

                  Wow, I’m “charged up” on the matter, am I? Didn’t know that. Let me introvert on it and I’ll get back to you. No, I’m not charged up on that. I make that point a lot because I’ve heard faaar too many people blame the Admin Tech for what went wrong in orgs, and it’s simply not true. The problem was the opposite. Poor or no application of the Admin Tech by people who never really got trained in it. And that included an awful lot of people who, for want of any “tech”, and because they weren’t particularly high toned to begin with, decided that “jerk” was the correct valence to adopt.

                  As for mission misdeeds, you may well be right. I’ve heard some stories like that. Not a lot, but I’ve heard some. As for those who stood on the wall as staff, etc., you’re preaching to the choir. I was one of those people, three times in fact. I have deep sympathy for their plight.

                  As for this Chris person, you described her in a certain way, and I took it from there. Simple.

                  And I never said my intent was to provoke you. But you brought up Chris, and I just thought, “Oh crap, not another story about some ‘f*ck you and the horse you rode in on’ pinhead.” Rather than be silent, I decided to register my disapproval. Based on past performance, I judged that you would respond in a certain way, and you did. Where you find that “interesting and edifying”, I just find it mildly humorous. 😉

                  Cheers,

                  Paul

          • Paul, you are right. One can be tough, but this is effective only at a tone level above 2.0. I had a tough, no-nonsense Academy Supervisor, Nicky Mendoza, but I loved her to bits because she didn’t make me wrong, she knew what I was experiencing in study; there was love, and that’s not a little thing. She granted me time.

            There’s a whole lot of difference between high and low ARC, and it’s reflected in the Tone Scale. The Miscavige era is marked by an unthinking resolution to force, and its defining ser fac, “I’m better than you.”

            I know exactly what you mean by “getting things done by being assholes.” It’s all down to what one sees at one’s own, chronic tone, and at one’s own Awareness level. Ron was right on top of this with his Chart of Human Evaluation in 1951.

            Ultimately, what decorates or infects our universe is placed there by us.

            The CoS has had no respect for the public, or its own staff, since Miscavige came to town.

            I’m not talking Mrs Theetie Wheetie, patty cake. I’m talking taking an interest in the person in front of you. Ron did, otherwise none of this would have come about.

            • P13C:

              You’re exactly right. It’s all about tone level.

              And actually, the CofS response to public and staff was poor long before Miscavige came to town. It got much worse under him, though. And here, I’m talking both externally and internally.

              Paul

  2. Thanks, Lana, for posting this.  I have never seen it before.  I wonder if the BC course rooms have been opened again.  I had a wonderful time training on the BC at ASHO.  Chris Montgomery was the lead sup.  Wonder what happened to her.  Her twin brother (Steve Stevens) was in Sydney.  I stayed in one of his homes each time I went to Sydney to audit “celebrities.” I enjoy seeing your FB posts of the beautiful scenery near you.  I never got out into the country of Australia with the exception of driving up to Palm Beach to audit PCs in that beautiful location. ARC. Becky (Oscar Emmy)

    • I had Chris “F*ck you and the horse you rode in on” Montgomery as well for my SHSBC, Becky. Remember the roll calls? Took 20-25 minutes to get through the nearly 200 or sometimes 200+ students. She was a powerhouse. They eventually declared her to bring her under their control and last I heard was she was another “broken” VIII in the Clearwater field, as public. But that was some years back. Sad.

      “It was discovered in the Sea Organisation that proven high calibre good standard Class VIII auditors suddenly without any apparent reason ceased to be able to audit well, made gross goofs and backed off from auditing completely.

      Its source was traced back to INVALIDATION.

      …The Class VIII auditor is an outstanding target for invalidation. BEWARE!!” (HCOB 12 Dec 68, Invalidation And The Good Auditor)

      • Chris:

        How do you bring down an organization and destroy a subject? Method #12: Destroy the confidence of its chief practitioners.

        Honestly, there should have been a list somewhere of all this stuff. That way, people might have been more on the lookout for this crap. I realize it could have been used as a recipe book by the bad guys, but at least we might have been better prepared than we were for the things which ultimately happened.

        As you say, “sad”.

        Paul

      • Yes I remember roll calls that used to take up a half an hour on the Briefing Course. Sigh

        Anyway Chris whadya do to piss Chris off?

        I always got along with Chris cause I knew how to kiss ass like pull the occasional red tag or do FESes for the students. I thought of bringing her an apple but I’d already excelled as Course Supervisor’s Pet by then 😉

        • Didn’t do much of anything, Robin, except ask for some time off, lol. That was her trademark response; she used it many times on many people. It was genuine, as was she. I never “kissed ass”, I just got along with most everyone (unless they were a total jerk or a**hole), and helped them out, debugging cycles, auditing staff or students, and always beating my targets. She eventually just let me set my own targets because anything she or Dicko or Skrivers set, I beat. 😀

          Those were good days, for sure; but now I am finding all days to be good from the point of view of experience and sensation. I can really see now WHY a thetan enjoys this game so much. Huh!

          • Guess I never committed the “heinous crime” of asking for time off 🙂

            Also when I was on Chris’ course I’d already done the Briefing Course earlier on the earlier A-F check sheet. Plus Ned, HRD and FPRD. So for me updating the course was a cake walk which gave me a lot of time to play “teacher’s pet” 😉

            Anyway Chris and I had a raunchy sense of humor about what was going down with the Junta. If they heard us. They probably would have hauled us into ethics for “J&D”.

            Personally I was surprised that she’d cave in but then Sandy had moved up lines to Int so I guess she didn’t want to cause any trouble for her.

            Anyway those were good ol’ days but I think we can bring ’em back with the FICS.

            In the mean time I’m trying to do what Scientologists are supposed to do and that is improve conditions which also fun especially when one succeeds. 🙂

  3. Interesting. I wasn’t aware of the original minimal ambitions for the BC. Amazing how much tech was developed out of that course or during the time of it, including the study tech.

    The evolution of the student described here is understandable. A lot like a military boot camp. Recruits often go through a similar set of ups and downs in learning how to become proper warriors.

    Paul

  4. I felt a touch of nostalgia reading this: people wrote letters – imagine that!

    The letter was a carrier wave of an aesthetic communication. A letter was a very personal thing, we had nice envelopes and letter paper, and wrote with a fountain pen. The ball-point pen spoiled the unique character of ones writing, its convenience was not widely appreciated, and was actually forbidden at my school.

    How we spoke and wrote to each other in those days was more revealing of ourselves than today, I feel. In a way, we were closer then, whoever we were, our identities maybe a little more vivid than now. Mass media and social networking tends to de-personify us. It’s almost like humans are gradually becoming like battery-farm chickens.

    The ‘severity’ MSH refers to would not have been the mindless rigidity we became used to in latter days. Really great academy sups, and C/S’s, were as rare then as now. I’ve heard, as most of us here have, of the tough regime on the old Apollo under Ron. But let’s remember that running throughout the entire history of Dn and Scn were the ‘spirituality for entertainment’ types, the dilettantes, the ‘cases,’ the lost souls, and all the rest of us who were poor students and generally out of PT. Of course, that’s true of probably all prior religions. Personally, I think the status of religion demeans the true nature of Scientology, but that’s a different matter.

    Ron’s open-door policy meant a significant number of people came onto org lines, and well-meaning as they might have been, and with the best will in the world, would never cog, would never see outside the MEST matchbox. Few would freely tolerate the emotional curve Mary Sue refers to. Maybe her word, ‘degradation’, was a little strong; nevertheless, Ron himself was on hand which would have been an incredible incentive to persevere.

    It was never easy, and MSH’s article doesn’t glamorise the course or promise false hope. Let’s not forget that Scn was not a multimillion pound mega corporation. Ron did fantastically well just to get St Hill, it was otherwise a shoestring outfit. External attacks meant Ron couldn’t develop the organization, training and delivery in a conventional manner, for instance, the FBI raid occurred three months after MSH’s article appeared.

    Knowing what we know today, as Paul says above, I daresay most of us on this page would jump at the chance to enroll on that course, I would.

    • P13C:

      I’m old enough to remember letters. My best friend in high school spent his junior year/my sophomore year at a Christian camp up in the wilds of Washington state, while the rest of his family lived in Dallas (me too). He and I wrote massive tomes to each other. We discussed women, books, weather, science, philosophy, art, you name it. And yes, our communication was more “intimate” and personal than what goes on today. We were truly like brothers to each other.

      I did the same thing with my family when I was in college, hundreds of miles away. I wrote long letters, describing people, experiences, everyday events, my thoughts on the news, etc. I even decorated the envelopes when I had the time. My mom used to love those missives from me.

      You also mentioned fountain pens. They weren’t that common when I was a kid, having been almost entirely replaced by ball points. But as soon as I first saw one (a teacher of mine wrote with one), I was hooked. It turns out my friend (above) also enjoyed their use. And I spent the next several decades seeking out fountain pens which wrote ever more smoothly and with ever more light pressure. But I don’t write much any more. Actually, I do, but they’re mostly notes and I do them in pencil so I can erase and rewrite. I haven’t written an actual letter in decades. So all my fountain pens are in boxes stored away. Otherwise, the only thing I write is checks to pay bills with (yes, kids, you can actually still do that). Because my bill payments are all by check with duplicates behind them to give me a record after the check’s been mailed, I have to do them with a ball point.

      Let me also put in that Ron, on course, was not a fearsome force. He was too up tone for that. He was generally good-natured and playful. He had a special fondness for students and auditors, and usually an optimistic attitude. And he was as patient as he insists supervisors be in Code of a Supervisor. But if he was patient, he was also insistent. And full of faith that you could eventually make it on course. When he was lecturing, he wasn’t showing off or LECTURING you. He was trying to help you see what he had discovered.

      “We now return control of your [computer] to you, until next week at this same time, when the Control Voice will take you to…” (I just had to include that. For those too young to get the reference, or for foreigners with no knowledge of it, look up a TV show called “Outer Limits”.)

      Paul

    • Actually it was the FDA with a bunch of thugs they gathered from the Longshoremen’s Hall and “deputized” raided the Church the first time in ’63.

      Then of course there was an effort to outlaw Scientology in Australia. However these efforts had the unintended consequence of making Scientology attractive to those people who opposed the establishment and natural rebels like myself to join in record numbers.

      This was the period of “unprecedented expansion” contrary to what the PR flacks say at the Church these days and we have the stats to prove it.

      Unfortunately the only thing that is stopping the Church of Scientology from expanding is the Church of Scientology. Just as Ron says in KSW by failing to practice Scientology.

      I mean we could go on and on about what the Church is doing wrong like Mike Rinder seems to be doing but the above pretty much sums it up.

      That said. Mary Sue just applied what Ron said about handling each student as an individual and training them as individuals when she was D of T.

      Mary Sue was probably one of the greatest unsung heroines of the entire movement.

      • “Mary Sue was probably one of the greatest unsung heroines of the entire movement.”

        Ken Urquhart worked directly with Ron from the late 60s to late 70s, mostly as his principal executive aide, and later as a NOTs auditor at Flag (until 1982, when he left because of disagreements with the way the church had changed). In a blog post, Ken had this to say about Mary Sue:

        “…I see her work for him and for the ‘family firm’ for over three decades as vital to its continued existence and growth both technical and organizational; without her support, he would have achieved but half of what he did.” http://urqbones.com/2017/03/28/success-and-failure-4-big-boys-at-play/

          • Yes she helped him come up with the name of the new subject that went beyond Dianetics. Also she assisted him in his research on the Whole Track and was the one who uncovered the conspiracy against Scientology he mentions in RJ 67.

        • M:

          I’ve always felt that Ron needed far more people around him who were as dedicated as Mary Sue. The true burden on Ron was crippling, even though he bore it well. He had a great “team” with MSH; it just needed to be bigger. Perhaps a “Ron’s Organization” (not to be confused with the entity which currently bears that name), which aided in management, research, etc. But characteristically, Ron was niggardly in his use of Church resources.

          Paul

          • Thanks, Paul. Getting answers to this is why I’m following the blog I quoted from above). It has the first several of a series of blog posts describing what was witnessed by the blog host firsthand, as Ron’s right-hand man for about a decade from the late ’60s to late ’70s.

What is your view?

